In addition to viewing paintings, I got to walk through a House of Mirrors during my quick romp through a couple of galleries on the Lower East Side.

installation

Lee Bul’s Via Negativa II installation

 

Booties are required

Booties are required

At the Lehmann Maupin Gallery at 201 Chrystie, the highlight of the exhibit of works by Korean artist Lee Bul is an installation (Via Negativa II) that made me feel like I was at a fun house at a carnival.

When I walked in, I was told I needed to put on some booties if I wanted to enter the exhibit room which has a mirrored floor.

The central sculpture looked like a number of slabs of mirrored glass with newspaper type print etched on them.  At first, I thought I could get the whole effect from outside the room without bothering with the booties.  But I was wrong.

I’m very glad I took the time to put on the booties, because entering the installation, I found a labyrinth of mirrors:
Lee Bul at Lehmann Maupin

Lee Bul at Lehmann Maupin

This is one photo

There were a few sculptures, including this one:

Lee Bul sculpture, Monster Black

 

 

Lee Bul’s works reminded me a lot of Yayoi Kusama. The house of mirrors has a lot in common with her infinity rooms and the Monster Black sculpture uses forms similar to the the stuffed fabric potato/phallic forms in many of Kusama’s works.

Lee Bul's room

Lee Bul’s room

Yayoi Kusama infinity room

Yayoi Kusama infinity room

Yayoi Kusama sofa

Upstairs there are some works on paper, including this collage/painting of the installation:
Lee Bul at Lehmann Maupin

Detail of the collage/drawing

Detail of the collage/painting

People waited hours to get into Yayoi Kusama’s infinity rooms. There was no line at Lehmann Maupin–so get there quick.  The show is on view through June 21st.

